top of page

What A Dog's Way Home can teach us about our own journey with God

Rated PG: Would not recommend for children under the age of 10.


What can I do when the invisible “leash” of love that connects me to God feels too invisible? Can I have the same unshakeable faith in my own journey with God as Bella has in her journey back to Lucas?

In the new film by Sony Pictures, A Dog’s Way Home, Bella is just a puppy when she is rescued by Lucas from an old abandoned house. She goes from being a timid scared pup to a confident sweet dog as she becomes part of Lucas’s family which includes the armed forces veterans at the VA hospital Lucas works at. Then Bella makes a few mistakes, albeit out of a good intentions, that starts a chain reaction of events leading her to travel miles to get back to Lucas. Along the way she experiences many happy, sad & at times traumatic moments however through it all is an unshakeable determination to keep going.


The film is beautifully crafted with fantastic performances from it's talented cast, wonderful special effects and a soundtrack you’ll want to listen to again and again. A Dog's Way Home will have you reaching for the tissues frequently but don’t worry there are also many moments that bring laughter & joy.


While watching I couldn’t help but be reminded by Bella’s journey of my own journey with God. The times when I have ended up feeling miles from God because of mistakes, having to start my own journey back to closeness with Him. Often I have thought about how easy it would be to give up... To think well I’m close enough, happy enough it won’t matter if I just stay here. I know it’s not the best God has for me but it will do.


Here are 3 things we can learn from Bella on how to persevere on our own journey with God.

1. Allow God the time! Bella was so close to being reunited with Lucas when her impatience to fix her mistake led to years more of separation. When we try to fix things in our own time and in our own way, in impatience, we often find ourselves taking an even longer detour.


2. Focus on the journey! Bella impacted and was impacted for good by many along the way. When she focused on the journey, the people/animals she encountered, she was able to make connections that saved lives (including her own). The people & experiences on the journey also matter immensely.


3. Trauma does not have to end the journey! This is one that really impacted me, I spent many years allowing my own trauma to insulate myself, keeping me more disconnected from God than I should have been. Bella ended up quite literally chained to her trauma but despite her fear when people arrived to help she allowed them to get close and it freed her. How often do we try to deal with it on our own stopping us from moving forward? Don’t allow the fear of help keep us from our journey.


A Dog’s Way Home is a beautiful reminder that the invisible “leash” of love we have with God is one of consistency, flexibility & support. It moves with us, supporting not restricting and no matter what length it is His “leash” is one of unconditional love ALWAYS connecting us to Him.

The film is an emotional journey but one that I’m looking forward to going on again.


A Dog’s Way Home is in cinemas NOW.


Warning: A Dog’s Way Home does contain some intense and adult themes, some violence and a death.

bottom of page