top of page

Mary Poppins Returns to us it's special kind of imagination

Rated G: Suitable for ALL ages!

It was everything I didn’t know that I wanted it to be!


For as long as I can remember I have LOVED the Mary Poppins film so when it was announced that they were making a sequel I started thinking about what I wanted it to be like.



Then the cast list came out and my anticipation rose, then as more trailers were released & the day I would get to see it drew closer my nerves started jangling. With equal parts excitement, anticipation & trepidation I finally got to see the next generation of Banks children and I was not disappointed.


Set decades after the first film we find Michael struggling to hold things together as a recently widowed father of 3 & Jane fighting for those whom she loves, and everyone else in the world, but herself. Just as everything looks like it is about to completely fall apart in blows Mary Poppins again to look after the Banks children, including the grown up ones!


With new music that feels like it could have been from the original yet still modernised for the times we are in, no more spoonful’s of sugar! & technology, costumes & lighting all taking those magical moments into a whole new realm of magical Mary Poppins Returns still manages to bring up all the same feeling of the original. For those who are ok with some spoilers the soundtrack is already out & available on iTunes, Spotify etc. It’s well worth a listen or two or just on repeat.


It is not hard to see why Mary Poppins Returns has been nominated for so many Golden Globes, The cast is exceptional! As the leads Emily Blunt brings one of her best perfoamances while Lin Manuel Miranda is, as always, sublime.


A supporting cast of Ben Whishaw, Emily Mortimer, Julie Walters & Colin Firth along with guest appearances from some more of the best & brightest names in UK & US ensure they rise to the stature of the original.


For fans of the original Mary Poppins look out for some very special cameo’s that are the icing on a light, beautiful & delicious cake.


I could talk for days about my favourite & not quite as loved parts of the film but I’ll keep it to just the one line for now that I think sums up how important films like this are. “If you’re lost, I always try to find a little light.” Well Mary Poppins Returns had plenty of light!


In cinemas on New Year’s Day I cannot recommend seeing this enough. Get all your friends & family, including the kids, along for a wonderful way to kick of 2019.

bottom of page